The Next Best Thing


Last week, I was tagged in a chain blog called The Next Big Thing by fellow writer, Whitney Keevers-Eastman 🙂
How it works is, I answer ten questions about my current WIP or release and then tag five other writers to do the same in the following week.

Well, here are my answers and the writers I’ve chosen to tell you about their novels are:
Susan Bellamy, Erin Grace, Imogene Nix, Khloe Wren and Kathrine Leannan

Well, now that the five have been announced, here are the questions:

What is the title of your current book?

Phantasma – Phi 1

Where did the idea come from for the book?

The whole idea is based on a Greek myth and the whole anger and revenge cycle you see in the Iliad. In this myth Ares’ daughter Alkippe is raped or nearly raped (depending on which version of the myth you read) by the Halirrhothios, son of Poseidon.

So the first book deals with the supposed rape of my heroine of course there’s a gorgeous hero named Xen that comes to her rescue and whom she falls utterly and completely in love with.

What genre does your book fall under?

Paranormal Romance.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Truthfully it would have to be someone new as I haven’t seen a popular actor that fits my minds image of Xen or Carissa. However I have sourced some models that fit the images. Let me tell you this kind of research is fun.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A daughter of a god learns the truth of her heritage and becomes entangled in an age-old war between the Phi Athanatoi and the Kakodiamones.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m not contracted yet but my aim and goal is to be represented by an agency.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

A month for the first 50k. Then the rest just flowed after that. It’s complete but going through a deep edit at the moment. This would be my second edit. It’s amazing how many things you don’t see yourself but with a trained eye helping the results are just staggering.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

That’s a tough question to answer….I’d probably say, Elizabeth McNaughton (whom I just discovered recently).

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

A love for Greek mythology and a deep need to write my own story from my own Greek/Australian upbringing. I believe I have a story to share and I do want to share my story.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It has a little bit of everything in it so if you are a paranormal lover then I hope it satisfies the ‘thirst’. It’s also book 1 in a series of 10 so for those that fall in love with the characters will be pleased as there will be more stories to enjoy.

Well, I hope you have enjoyed reading about Phantasma – Phi 1. Have a nice weekend everyone!

2 comments on “The Next Best Thing

Leave a Reply

