**Winner** Four things I like about junk mail at Christmas time…yes four because sometimes things have to be even.


CONGRATULATIONS  Susanne Bellamy! 

Please e-mail me at efthalia@efthaliapegios.com

______________________________________________________________________________

We all know that one man’s trash is certainly a woman’s creative utilisation.  Junk mail for the majority of us is just that…trash that fills up our mailboxes. But personally for me at Christmas time, it’s a blessing.

Slide1How you say?

Simple, it has more than one use.

1.  Shove some of the toy catalogues in front of the kids and let them go nuts for an hour or more. Cutting out their Christmas wish list stuff is fun.

2.  I get serious with the catalogues by circling what I intend to buy. It saves me oodles of time. I then charge to the store like Wilma Flinstone and Betty Rubble.  But word of warning shoppers – be wary of how much you put on credit!WilmaBetty-300x209

One year I was in and out of the shopping mall in 1 hour and 20 mins. That’s a record for me.  I had a mission….buy Christmas presents and get out.  No time for, ‘oh isn’t that a good idea or oh isn’t that lovely.’ Nothing is lovely about Christmas shopping and Christmas crowds.

 3.  Since it’s summer down under (Australia) the catalogues are perfect for the BBQ. I throw them into the fire…a bit like Frodo did with the ring.

shutterstock_1112605974.   Shred them and use the shredding to pack items that you’re sending to family interstate or overseas. It’s a perfect recycling idea and better than using plastic bubble wrap.  Even though we like bursting those bubbles.

**NOW FOR THE PRIZE**

Leave a comment below for a chance to win my Writer’s Christmas Emergency Pack – equipped with pencils, pens, notebook, post-it notes, chocolates, biscuits  and of course a hand cream  because everyone woman whether it’s your wife, girlfriend or mom needs some in her handbag.

Chocolates and Biscuits not shown in picture but included in prize.

Chocolates and Biscuits not shown in picture but included in prize.

7 comments on “**Winner** Four things I like about junk mail at Christmas time…yes four because sometimes things have to be even.

  1. These all work well and I love the idea of the kids cutting out their wish lists and gluing them onto a list for Mum. I used to circle the catalogue items at work then another friend and I would hit the shops with our lists in hand–the efficiency of it is astounding! Now, we get few catalogues through the mail box and my children are past that stage; maybe if I ever reach the grandkiddies’ stage… Give me time!

    • Hi Susanne, it’s all about efficiency. I used to walk around for hours not knowing what to buy and the shopping was barely complete. I’ve learnt it’s better to know what you are buying.

      I’m sure when the grand kids come along they’ll be looking forward to compiling their wish lists.

      I love the Dusk catalogue and the Myer one at the moment.

Leave a Reply

